Browse » Countries » Eritrea


Border countries: Djibouti, Ethiopia, Sudan

The Eritrean territory in and around the town of Badme continues to be occupied by Ethiopia.

Approximately 1,000km of Eritrean territory, in and around the town of Badme is occupied by Ethiopia. While ownership of this area is disputed, in 2002 the Eritrea-Ethiopia Boundary Commission, established pursuant to the Agreement of 12 December 2000 between the Government of the State of Eritrea and the Government of the Federal Republic of Ethiopia, that Badme and the surrounding area formed part of Eritrea, and not Ethiopia. Eritrea-Ethiopia Boundary Commission, Decision Regarding Delimitation of the Border between the State of Eritrea and the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, 13 April 2002. The Permanent Court of Arbitration serves as the registry for the Eritrea-Ethiopia Boundary Commission and all relevant documents are available on its website.

Last updated: Tuesday 12th September 2017