Browse » Countries » Azerbaijan


Border countries: Armenia, Georgia, Iran, Russian Federation

Part of Azerbaijani territory, the Nagorno-Karabakh region, is occupied by Armenia.

Azerbaijan is involved in an armed conflict with Armenia because the latter is occupying part of Azerbaijan, the region of Nagorno-Karabakh. Due to the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, the relationship between Armenia and Azerbaijan remains tense. Armed clashes along the ceasefire line established in 1994 remain common. In April 2016, particularly heavy clashes occurred during four days, leading to dozen of deaths. For further information, see A. Bellal, The War Report. Armed Conflicts in 2016, Geneva Academy, March 2017 p 42; International Crisis Group, Nagorno-Karabakh: New Opening, or More Peril?, Report No 239, 4 July 2016; S. Tisdall, ‘Azerbaijan-Armenia Conflict is a Reminder of Europe’s Instability’, The Guardian, 3 April 2016; ‘Nagorno-Karbakh’s War. A Frozen Conflict Explodes’, The Economist, 9 April 2016.

Last updated: Tuesday 12th September 2017