Browse » Countries » Russia


Border countries: Azerbaijan, Belarus, China, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Mongolia, North Korea, Norway, Ukraine

Russia is involved in the non-international armed conflicts in Syria, an international armed conflict with Ukraine and a series of military occupations, namely the occupation of Crimea and other regions of Ukraine, the occupations of South Ossetia and Abkhazia in Georgia, and the occupation of the Transdniestria in Moldova.

Russia is currently a party to a series of armed conflicts. For further information on who is considered a party to an armed conflict, see ‘contemporary challenges – multinational forces: who is a party to the conflict?’ in our classification section.


  • Russia has been occupying parts of Ukrainian territory, the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol ('Crimea'), since March 2014. FUrthermore, it has been occupying other regions of Ukraine since Febrruary 2022.





Last updated: Wednesday 5th October 2022