Browse » Countries » Central African Republic

Central African Republic

Border countries: Cameroon, Chad, Republic of Congo (Congo-Brazzaville), Democratic Republic of Congo, South Sudan, Sudan

Central African Republic is involved in a series of non-international armed conflicts on its territory against several armed groups.

Central African Republic is a party to the non-international armed conflict on its territory against several armed groups, most prominently ex-Séléka and anti-Balaka armed groups, and armed groups that splintered from the ex-Séléka. The government of Central African Republic is supported by the UN Multidimensional Integrated Mission in Central African Republic, (MINUSCA). Furthermore, from 2013 to 2016 France deployed its troops to help the government in regaining control of the country.

Last updated: Friday 12th October 2018